An Introduction to Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

An Introduction to Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

The most trusted certification used by the different companies is the Certified information security system professional(CISSP). Certified a wide range of topics, including the fields of risk assessment, computer law, security systems design, installation and operation, and maintenance of security systems technology.

This certification body is independent and its members are subject matter experts. Its mission is to provide testing services to organizations that offer authoritative guidance on security standards and also develop future strategies for global information technology (IT) security.

Click Here to Read: Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA): An Introduction

Upside and downside of CISSP 

 It is a professional certification provided by the Information Systems Security Association (ISSA) after meeting the requirements. The job of a security professional is to protect corporate information, the network and intranet, and control access as well as the use of the information system.

Why Hire a CISSP Employee? 

A certified security analyst has gone through a lot of trials and when you’re hiring one for your business, you need to be sure that they have met the right qualifications. CISSP candidates are required to go through 80 hours of the training program which takes about 12 months. A person can only become a CISSP after they’ve passed through 8 professional exams in different domains and have the experience of a minimum of 5 years. 

Click Here to Read: Best IT Security Certifications: An Introduction

CISSP Requirements

If you are planning to hire a CISSP then there are five conditions obligatory for the job applicant, and if not all these five conditions will not be satisfied. The first requirement is the complete understanding of concepts, the second condition is an excellent knowledge of security, and the third is more coverage in networking, and the fourth must be a professional experience of seven years. Fifth requires physical training, physical exercise, and other features. The fifth requirement is not only physical training but augmented training.  

Click Hre To Reaf: Cybercrime Rising: 6 Steps to Prepare Your Business

The 8 CISSP Examination Domains 

There are eight categories of content, and within each category, there are specific techniques that you can employ.

  • Security and risk management
  • Asset security 
  • Security Engineering 
  • Communication and network security 
  • Identity and Access management 
  • Security Assessment and Testing 
  • Security operations 
  • Software Development security

Embarking on the CISSP Journey 

The Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP), also known as the “veneer of all certifications” has a bad reputation. This is most likely due to the exclusivity and formidable nature of the test itself. Those who have passed speak of it in high regards, like an impressed fraternity giving new inductees their secret handshake. Those that have failed are knocked for 6. Consider the Kleenex effect, you might know of it from its lesser cousin the Q-Tip Effect. These marketing campaigns convey how essential these products are in our daily lives by name dropping them into the common conversation and drawing your attention to them. 

Leave a Reply